#TBT – DJ Eleven – Soul 1

TBT this week to Eleven’s smooth as silk “Soul 1” mixtape that’s been around for quite some time now. It still sounds great to this day primarily because of the classic nature of so much of the tracklist. Blended with ease as he’s well known for doing, Eleven drops essentials from Bobby Womack, Sade, Mary J. Blige, Lonnie Liston Smith, Outkast and more like it’s nothing. Late spring soulful vibes are always very real and this mix is well worth the revisit to tap right into that mindset. Stream and download are below.

DOWNLOAD (right click “save as”)


1. Goapele’s Intro
2. Jill Scott – ‘Gimme’
3. Jean Carn – ‘Don’t Let It Go To Your Head’
4. Mos Def – ‘Umi Says’
5. OutKast – ‘The Whole World’
6. OutKast – ‘SpottieOttie…’
7. Bobby Womack – ‘Woman’s Gotta Have It’
8. Ann Peebles – ‘I Can’t Stand The Rain’
9. Youngbloodz feat. Big Boi – ’85’
10. india.arie feat. Super Cat – ‘Video (Remix)’
11. Sade – ‘By Your Side (Remix)’
12. N’dea Davenport f. Guru – ‘Bring It On (DJ Premier Remix)’
13. MJ feat. Eve – ‘Butterflies (Remix)’
14. Sylvia Striplin – ‘You Can’t Turn Me Away’
15. Goapele – ‘Childhood Drama’
16. Jimmy Smith – ‘I’m Gonna Love You Just A Little More Babe’
17. Lonnie Liston Smith – ‘A Chance For Peace’
18. The Roots feat. Common – ‘Act Too (Love Of My Life)’
19. Mary J. Blige – ‘Be Happy (Remix)’
20. Ahmad Jamal – ‘You’re Welcome, Stop On By’
21. Vicki Anderson & Bobby Byrd – ‘You’re Welcome, Stop On By’
22. Ohio Players – ‘Sweet Sticky Thing’
23. Res – ‘Ice King’
24. Da Beatminerz feat. Caron Wheeler – ‘Open (Remix)’
25. Grand Puba feat. Mary J. Blige – ‘Check It Out’
26. Terry Dexter – ‘Lay Me Down’
27. Bahamadia – ‘Philadelphia’
28. Goapele – ‘Closer’